concert and discussion
Budapest, Petőfi Sándor u. 5, 1052
3 000 Ft

Peter Ablinger

Das ökologische Manifest

Peter Ablinger has found a gap in the landscape of contemporary music, which he has filled with his work ever since. His music creates conditions under which listening can observe itself. The object of listening, i.e. the sound produced does not claim an aesthetic intrinsic value, but fulfils its function with regard to the listening process and it is often not the sound itself, but rather its silencing that attracts the listener’s attention. Accordingly, Ablinger often uses everyday and disturbing noises, such as traffic noise, white noise or electronic distortions, often in combination with instrumental sounds.


In 2021, BALKON Hungarian art magazine published an in-depth interview with Peter Ablinger, entitled ‘The new that has always been there’ conducted by the curator of the event, Nikolaus Gerszewski.



Trembling (2021) form: Projections, 8’ (trembling, metal sheet, amplification)
People’s People (2022), 12’ (violin and wallstreet)
Irreversible 1 (1991), 6’ (performer, books)
Now/Most (1996), 2’ (vocal, in hungarian)
Weiss/Weisslich 17f (1996), 4’ (soprano saxophone, noise)
Now/Most (1996), 2’ (vocal, in hungarian)
Irreversible 2 (1991), 6’ (performer, guitar)
Small Forgery 2 (10 little soldiers) form: Projections (Feb 24, 2022), 2’ (maltreated music box and feedback)
Das Ökologische Manifest (2022), 10’ (instruments, materials, voices)






  • Peter Ablinger: Trembling (2021)
  • Peter Ablinger: People’s People (2022) Premiere
  • Peter Ablinger: Irreversible 1 (1991)
  • Peter Ablinger: Now (1996)
  • Peter Ablinger: Weiss/Weisslich 17f (1996)
  • Peter Ablinger: Irreversible 2 (1996)
  • Peter Ablinger: Small Forgery 2 (10 little soldiers) (1996)
  • Peter Ablinger: Das Ökologische Manifest (2022)


  • Nikolaus Gerszewski


  • Peter Ablinger
  • Nikolaus Gerszewski
  • Samira Spiegel
  • Orsolya Kaincz
  • David Karla