Opus Jazz Club
1093 Budapest, Mátyás str. 8.
2800 HUF

Quelquefois: Blooming

Vinyl release

‘Blooming’ was recorded during a performance by Quelquefois at Mixát Stage, Budapest in the spring of 2022. Our aim was to focus on timbres and textures instead of relying on melodies and rhythms, and to let these elements lead the music through paths that had not been planned in advance. The material captured on this record continually changes and transforms itself, sometimes speeding up and at other times radically slowing down, and we realized – both while performing and while listening back to the recording – that we were being constantly forced to alter and overwrite the way we perceived the pace of time’s passing. We attempted to abandon the hierarchy derived from the regular roles our instruments play, and create a more democratic starting point, in which all five members could serve the music by any means. Instead of over-analysing and intellectualising the musical situations which arose, we tried to take a more intuitive approach to performance. As a musician’s intuition is fragile and is affected by even the most subtle reactions from other musicians and the audience, we believe that improvised music is the most communal form of contemporary music.



The concert was supported by the MOL-New Europe Foundation in the framework of the Felhangolva! programme. Further details and programmes:



  • Bálint Bolcsó - electronics
  • János Ávéd - tenor saxophone, melodica
  • Péter Ajtai - double bass
  • Gergő Kováts - tenor saxophone
  • Attila Gyárfás - drums, gong